TKR Celebrate the little wins

babycatcher

Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hi everyone

I had a left total knee replacement on 12th August and came home yesterday. Had to stay in hospital an extra day due to bleeding coming from the wound. Since I've been home I've had some further bleeding and serous fluid leaking onto the dressing. Phoned hospital and they've suggested leaving dressing in place at present and let them know if it becomes soaked and needs changing. Anyone else have issues with a leaking wound? I had internal stitches and then glue to suture, plus some steristrips after the extra bleed.

Also struggling with mobilising - currently on two sticks but unsure how far to push myself. Was doing better in the hospital as my knee was less swollen - in fact my whole leg is pretty swollen now so feels heavy and I cant bend it as much.

I'm 53 and had surgery in the UK. I work in healthcare and am hoping to return to work in about 3 months - graduated return.

Thanks

Hello @babycatcher - and :welome:

It's not unusual for a leg to get more swollen once you get home. That's because it's almost inevitable that you'll be doing more than when you were in hospital.
As you probably know, the answer is lots of rest, icing and elevation. That might also help to decrease the amount of oozing from your incision.

The hospital's advice is good. Don't let your dressing become soaked through. If that's happening, go back and have the dressing changed under sterile conditions. Don't try to deal with it yourself, even though you probably know how.

For one of my TKRs, I had to go back a couple of times to have the dressing changed.

Don't try to push yourself on mobilising. It's safer to keep using two sticks or crutches than to risk a fall.
Your knee will gradually let you know when it's ready to give up a bit of support.

About 3 months off and then a Phased return to work sounds about right.