THR THR

@Dee62 Gosh, I am so sorry that you are worrying about your workplace and about your return.

Not so sound discouraging or negative, but it sounds like very difficult work for someone who's been through an injury and surgery.
Is it possible to talk to your surgeon now about an extension for your time off?
It sure would ease your mind, and your body will thank you!

I'm very nervous about it, and my boss is unapproachable.

Can you try to approach the boss anyway? What do you have to lose if you’re already of the mindset you’re going back? It’s worth a shot. Cry:boohoo:Scream:gaah: Bite...no, don’t bite. Just do what you have to do, you never know, you may pull on Ol Mr, or Mrs Unapproachable‘s heart strings and get more time off, or a lighter load upon your return.:shrug:

Good Luck, hope you have a nice weekend!

Hi, Dee. I worked in healthcare on my feet for most of a 12 hour shift 3 days a week. It could be brutal with bending, lifting, walking, etc. much like your job. I was NOT ready at 6 or 8 or 12 weeks. It wound up being 14 with reduced hours and days the first 3 weeks. My doctor was behind me 100%. I am lucky to have had a very understanding boss but I had to communicate with her and let her know where I was in recovery. She really didn’t want me back unless I could do the job safely and she didn’t want to set me back by going full tilt at first. It’s going to take some negotiating and if your OS backs you up, then it gives you a little more leverage. 1. Talk to your OS. It took a little bit to get exactly what I needed in written for form for release to take to work. 2. Set out an actual phased schedule that you two can look at and talk over. Make it doable and reasonable for a win- win. Sometimes it’s easier when you deal in the concrete instead of I need more time off and I don’t know how long. I agree with Layla, you have nothing to lose to try and talk to your boss. This is the time you need to advocate for yourself so you’re not paying for it