THR One week post op

juliewot

Country
United States United States
Hi. Just found this site and it’s been helpful! I am 50 and just had a right total hip replacement 2/5/19. So far it’s been amazing! No more bone on bone pain. I literally had no hip left. Surgeon was amazing! It was a more complicated case than usual. He had to add 28 mm to my right leg. I no longer stand lopsided! I have transitioned from walker to cane in the house as of today.
My biggest question is I am a pediatric occupational therapist. Will I eventually be able to get back to sitting on the floor to do my job? What time frame should I expect?

Welcome, sounds like you're doing great. 28mm is over an inch!, that's quite a difference in length. The timeline is different for everyone but a general guideline is 12 weeks to return to work and even then it's an individual thing.

Eman85 yes! I had quite the leg length discrepancy. Long story but I had bilateral hip dysplasia as an infant and they knew I’d need a replacement in my 40’s-50’s.
Best thing I’ve done given how much pain I was in! The surgeon looked at my X-ray and said “how are you walking?” It wasn’t pretty!

I've got one of those T shirts too, quite a few "how did you walk in here" from Dr.s yet I had no limp. I can move around pretty good but getting up from the floor is tough. Do you have to pick up the children? Lifting isn't something my hip likes at all.

:welome: to BoneSmart.
You sound like you are already seeing how hip surgery is life changing!
So happy for you! A surgery date will be added to your signature and you will be added to our February Valentine recovery club.
Please take a look at these recovery articles as there is loads of useful information.
This forum was a splendid recovery tool for me and the support and advice from "those who know" is unbelievably helpful, in my opinion.

Hip Recovery: The Guidelines