Trying to decide what to do

Vansan

Country
United States United States
Hi. I am 54 and was pretty active up until July 7t. I did a lot of biking zumba and power walking. In July i came down with a bad bout of sciatica. Took me till Sept to start to come back. Started walking and knees have been swollen ever since. Had 3 cortisone’s and do PT every week. Have 3 different ortho doc opinions

MRI shows almost bone on bone, 3mm of cartilage on patella.
1st doc said TKR
2nd doc days PT and Rooster Shots.
3rd doc says to try arthroscopy first then maybe a partial?

Help.
They say I have moderate degenerative OA. The only things I have been doing is 10 minutes of stationary bike and 30 minutes of walking a few times a week. Lots of crunching knees and swelling is bad in right knee

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

@Vansan my first recommendation is to stop all that PT. It does nothing for a bone on bone knee and actually increases the swelling.

Are you icing your knees? Ice and elevation may ease some of the pain. But unfortunately there is nothing out there that eases pre-op pain.

If your MRI shows bone on bone why not go for TKR. All the other suggestions are just time and money wasters. Get that TKR and get back to the active life you love.

Hi Jaycey.

Thanks for advice. I was doing PT to keep some strength in my legs. Yes I ice a lot. Not much elevation. 3mm I guess is almost bone on bone. I never had any surgery. Nervous about TKR.

I never had any surgery. Nervous about TKR
Plenty of our members felt the same pre-op including me. No one likes to face surgery. But when the pain begins to narrow your activity it's time to move forward.

Have a read around this board. Plenty of recovery stories in the Knee Recovery area. Ask any questions you might have or feel free to discuss your concerns. We were all in that space at one time and fully understand.

Have you done this quiz? https://bonesmart.org/forum/threads/score-chart-how-bad-is-my-arthritic-hip-knee.19871/