Knee Infection* My dilemma.

Chrissyann

Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hello, this is my first time on this forum, I've found it very useful indeed. I had a TKR on the 29th May and it was every bit as painful as my surgeon said it would be. I've been home just over a week and I believe I'm doing well. My problem like so many others is my ROM, the ps came last Friday and measured my flexion, it was 65, he said if it didn't improve I may have to have an intervention in the future, I'm not at all happy about this. My partner was present and is adamant that if I don't loosen my ligaments and try to straighten my knee this might be a reality. My knee is swollen, bruised and stiff, however this is not surprising as well as having a new knee joint I had a varus knee deformity corrected. I've been listening to my instincts and I've rested, elevated, iced, walked as much as I can, dosed myself with pain killers and apart from a little discomfort and feeling emotional I'm getting there. Im pleased the staples come out tomorrow and as it's only two weeks post op I wonder if I'm making the right discision? Listen to the ps or carry on on listening to my body? Thank you for your helpful forum.

Hello @Chrissyann and :welome: to BoneSmart! We’re a community of people who’ve all had joint replacements just as you’ve had, so we know what you’re going through.

I think you’re making the right decision... and this reading list I’m giving you will explain all the reasons why. It’s natural, being humans, we think we can surely “do something” that will give us a better, faster recovery. The truth is, we have very little control over healing! Our bodies heal at their own rates, some faster, some slower, and none as fast as we would wish. You are being very wise to be patient, because that really is the best approach!

Please ask any questions you might have, and share any concerns. We’re here to help!

Knee Recovery: The Guidelines