7/5/17 Right THR . . pre-op questions

Suttree

Country
United States United States
Hi . . I'm scheduled for Right THR early next month. Posterior approach. Some pre-op questions as your time allows . .

1.) I have a memory foam bed. They are mighty comfortable but can be a little harder to get out of or just try to re-position yourself. Should I kick one of my sons out of their room so I can recover on a normal mattress?

2.) I've been stretching relentlessly for the two years I've been trying to figure out what's up with back / hip. Its not one of those things that ever became an easy habit for me. I'm sick of stretching and find that I care less about it now that I know the THR is coming up. Do stretched and loose muscles prior to surgery translate into a more optimal recovery? Or do knotted and tight glut muscles at the time of surgery make for a tougher recovery?

3.) Ice packs . . I've been using "Smart Temp" reusables that have the handy velcro straps to keep it in place. I was going to order some additional ones but thought I'd check and see if you good people have a preference that should be considered.

4.) Gimme one part of your THR experience that caught you off guard even though you thought you were prepared.

Great website . . thanks in advance for any feedback. I'm sure I'll add more questions to this thread as the date gets closer.

Suttree

Should I kick one of my sons out of their room so I can recover on a normal mattress?
Try your bed, if it is not comfortable, take over your son's bed.

Do stretched and loose muscles prior to surgery translate into a more optimal recovery? Or do knotted and tight glut muscles at the time of surgery make for a tougher recovery?
Suggest you try a gentler easier stretching program, do a few gentle stretches, no need to spend a lot of time, or push past a gentle stretch. You can also try a massage to loosen those tight muscles before surgery.

Ice packs
Use what works best for you.