Will I ever sleep through the night again??

Status
Not open for further replies.

goodasnew

graduate
I'm now 11 weeks post RTKR and doing well. Went back to work last week which was a bit of a shock but am managing reasonably well. My only real problem is lack of sleep. I go to sleep easily enough with the help of 2 extra strength panadol, camomile tea a dose of Valerian (and a good book) but am awake again at 3am every morning, restless, uncomfortable and sleepless! I'm not really in any pain but just can't get back to sleep. I have to get up at 6 so by the time I eventually get back to sleep it's almost time for the dreaded alarm.

Has anyone found a solution to this sort of insomnia?? I know if I could just sleep better, my day would be a lot easier! I knew I would have several weeks of sleep problems but how long does it generally take to get back to normal? :what:

Happy Easter everyone!

Hi goodasnew! Sorry you are having sleep problems. I am not a medical expert but I would say that at 11 weeks out this is probably not the post-op sleeplessness Smarties sometimes experience.

Are you wearing yourself out at work? Sometimes too much activity can contribute to insomnia. It's a horrid cycle - being too tired, not getting good sleep, then being more tired.

Can you get Melatonin (sometimes called jet lag pills) in UAE? Ask at the pharmacy. I found Melatonin a very good way to break the waking up in the middle of the night habit.

Hope you get some :sleep:!

I remember having sleepless nights for quite a while. It stemed from not being able to get in a comfortable position. I'm a side sleeper mostly. A small throw pillow like you would use on the couch was my answer. When I get on my side I put it between my knees. It takes the pressure off the tender knee and puts it in a more comfortable alignment. My cousin shared this trick with me. I still use it.

Donna
LTKR 12/06/2010