Unexpected anxiety

Status
Not open for further replies.

pclane65

WOW! This anxiety over right knee replacement surgery scheduled 04/10/2012 has taken me by surprise. Even though I realized recovery could take awhile, I was excited about the prospect of finally being pain free after so many years. In the last few days I have watched the DVD the OS sent home with me. Maybe I should not have watched it. Pretty graphic and I can't seem to get past the visuals. I worked in the medical field for years and took care of my husband while he was dying from cancer and thought I wanted to know what to expect. Maybe not! Anybody else feel this way? Chocolate...maybe I just need chocolate!!!

Chocolate is good! Has nice feel-good endorphin-type thingies in it!
aflagsforworship.co.uk_jo_pic_images_ilovecshs.gif

Yea, that vid is pretty gruesome if you're not accustomed to that kind of thing. I spent nearly all my life deeply involved in it so for me it was just another operation - or so I thought! Wrong! So different when it's going to be you 'under the knife'!

However, let me assure you that absolutely everyone feels like that. Look at it from another direction - you'd have to be a bit weird not to be anxious, don't you think? :wink1:

I was one of the ones that believed that "ignorance is bliss" and didn't see what was to be done until after the BTKR! (I made a lucky choice there...)

Get yourself some Dove Dark Chocolate and chomp away---they are my favorites!

Seriously, though---you have come to the right place and many of us have had a really bad case of the nerves before the surgery. We will be here for you and I know exactly how you feel.

Fire away with all of your concerns---you know that you will not feel anything and that everything will go just fine.

I took the class the surgeon required. I read all the pamphlets and booklets the surgeon gave me. I still went in, oblivious to what was ahead. "Possible year to recover? Not ME!" Oh, silly me.