PKR Underestimated operation and post-op pain!

poppyzac

Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hi, this is my first time on here, due to the lack of sleep I have been reading and enjoying this site and have found it very informative.

My experience so far, unicompartmental knee replacement on 31/10/2014, operation performed under spinal anaesthesia, which although an uncomfortable procedure gave excellent comfort and pain relief alongside some very nice sedation. The recovery room was a pleasant experience chatting to the nurses, instead of nausea etc that can accompany a general anaesthetic. I was very comfortable for the first 20 hours or so, (apart from not being able to get out of bed and the dreaded commode!) and then it hit me like a brick - pain like I have never experienced in my life! Pain score 10, 10, 10! Blood pressure went up to 200 systolic, heart rate 120, sweaty, clammy, basically it took another 24 hours until I was comfortable to be able to sleep for a couple of hours.

Discharged from hospital on 5th day. I have totally underestimated this op and the pain that comes with it. I am now 11 days post-op and due to have my 25 staples removed tomorrow. The pain is manageable now, although sleeping is still a problem, but that will come with time. My husband has been a sweetheart, although he is yawning a lot! Oh and he's currently in the spare room so there is an upside!

@poppyzac hello,I live not too far from the Dales! Sounds as if you had a grim time in hospital ! Jeez! But good to hear your pain is now better controlled and you've got some sleep. That's some BP!
This site is great and has lots of good advice and reading.
My op is a week on Tuesday so I'll be following your progress with interest.:ice:

Hi @poppyzac
:welome:to BoneSmart. I'm glad you found us.

I see that you've been doing some reading here and that is good.