BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Knee Replacement & Hip Replacement
Patient Advocacy & Online Community
  1. PLEASE NOTE THAT ONE RECOVERY THREAD ONLY IS PREFERRED. PLEASE DON'T START ADDITIONAL THREADS ABOUT YOUR RECOVERY.

[TKR] Turning a Corner Towards Recovery

Discussion in 'Knee Replacement Recovery Area' started by juniper, Jul 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. juniper

juniper Senior

I am so glad to be off for summer vacation (I'm a teacher) and able to walk and ice/elevate, exercise, all without having to stand on my feet for eight hours. Went on vacation on June 23 for a week with my husband and son. Friends visited. I was able to walk two and a half blocks to the beach, the equivalent of three blocks to the edge of the ocean, and actually went into the ocean (with a little help from my husband, David, and son, Jody) Ah. This was why I had this surgery--so I can go into the ocean, canoe, hike in the mountains. Now I've accomplished my first goal. Soon the others will follow. I am learning patience. Slowly. Slowly. Good luck to everyone else who is healing. Navigating the site these days is a bit tricky for me. Want to contact Speccybeccy and can't seem to do this. Hi, if you happen to see this post.

• Like Like x 2
  2. Morning Glory

Morning Glory Senior

United States United States
    Hi juniper,
    That's great you got to enjoy your vacation. I'm just getting to the point where I can actually get out and do things. I waited so long that I was basically housebound. My surgeon would only do one knee at a time so I was semi-housebound with the pain from left knee for another 3 months. I went grocery shopping last week for the first time in well over a year and didn't whimper once! I've hit a few clearance sales although the outlet stores did me in today. Too far between stores and way too hot!!
    Congratulations on such a wonderful recovery!

• Like Like x 1
  3. GrandyGirl

GrandyGirl Graduate

Hi Juniper,