Strange pain

Status
Not open for further replies.

ginger-ly

This is my first time posting on this site and I'd like to begin by saying how helpful it's been. When I made plans for my hip surgery, I received a booklet from the Dr. with what I guess was standard information about the procedure and the immediate post op but I was never told how it REALLY is! Anyway, just to brief you, I had a mini-incision righthip done in June and the left hip done a month later. Don't laugh but I honestly thought "mini-incision" somehow meant "mini-recuperation" -- as in a week or two. I was shocked (I still am sort of) that it's taking so long to fully recover. I used to dance professionally (ballet), have always worked out at the gym, do yoga, pilates, and ballroom dancing with my husband so I guess I thought this whole thing would be a breeze. Well, it hasn't been. The left hip has been going well but the right one (one done in July) started out well but 2-3 weeks after surgery I began to get this strange pain. It feels like a pinched nerve and runs down my leg into my knee and even into the shin. What's disconcerting about it is that I can feel fine one minute and be walking fairly normally and then all of a sudden I get this pain and can barely put weight on my leg. Then it disappears. The Dr. thinks it may be bursitis. The PT doesn't have a clue and is a bit concerned. I'm wondering if anyone out there in HR land can shed some light on this. I am now keeping a record of it--noting when it happens and the intensity of it. The last few days have been pretty good but, for example, this afternoon at school (I am a teacher) I suddenly felt it stabbing again. Anyone have any insights on this? Also--I'm still finding it difficult to put on socks and tie shoes, and feel stiff and achy in the evening. Is this normal?

Hi there, ginger-ly (love that name!!) and welcome to the forum.

Sounds to me like you have a touch of sciatica.