random logouts

Roy Gardiner

Staff member since February, 23, 2013
BoneSmart Staff
Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
I had thought that the 'timeout' feature had got shorter, but it can't be that, I am now often being logged out after just a couple of minutes. Is this a known problem?

FYI only: I have never used the "keep me logged in" feature, and I have never been logged off the forum at any time I can remember since I joined.

And it's just now happened again seconds after logging on.

Roy, I am also not having a problem---what server are you using?

Dare I ask if you clear out your cookies regularly?

Otherwise, let's get @RichardRobins on the case!

Happened again this morning, much more serious, basically couldn't do anything.

Problem 'went away' as I restarted my machine (for another reason). Is this related to cookies?

Changed to using the 'stay logged in' feature, which I've never used before and never felt the need for. If there's a time limit to staying logged in, what's the point of an over-ride option? See if that makes a difference.

How would clearing cookies help? No, I never clear cookies - why should I? Genuine Q, no sarcasm (I hate the way there's no nuance to the typed word).

Believe it or not, it does often help to clear your cookies and cache completely now and then. Someone wiser than I would have to tell you why, but I do know it can help when there's a problem and it's usually one of the first things a computer geek would suggest doing.

i am actually looking into reasons behind this, seems about 1 week ago cookies become corrupted for some users, who couldn't stay logged in without clearing cookies first and then relogging in.

Ahhh...thanks, Rich!!! Appreciate the insight into the problem....

That's nice to know .... all I have to do now is understand it! :loll: