How Long 'til Normal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janet

I'm busy prepping mind, body and home for right hip replacement in November. I've received all kinds of info from my doc, but nothing about the long-term effects like: how long until you can bend at more than a 90 degree angle? How long until you can sit comfortably in a chair at work? How long until you can be intimate again? How long might it take until you can be off pain meds? I've been told that you're encouragedto sleep on the 'replaced' side to prevent abduction... how long until you can sleep on the opposite side - even with a pillow between your legs? How long does the average person use a walker/crutches/cane? (I've been using a cane for 2 years already).
When I get home from the hospital should I be able to get up the stairs to the bedroom or should I make temporary arrangements to sleep on the first floor?
So many questions... I'm 52 and overweight, but lost 100 lbs in the past year. I'm continuing to lose, but hoping that the ability to WALK will greatly help me in these efforts!
Janet

Well, congratulations to you for loosing so much weight. That is a great achievement!

As for all your other questions, I could go through them one at a time but I really do recommend that you sit down and read through all the other threads on here., You'll find a wealth of experiential information in them from people who've been "there, done that"!! It will be much more informative and reassuring than all my spoutings, I'm sure.

So if, when you've done that, you still have some unanswered questions, just post again and I'll be very happy to do what I can. And in the meantime, I'm sure some other members will add their two penn'orth here as well.