Having BTKR surgery July 11, 2012 "Looking for support"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brave4life

Good Word of Encouragement to Kathy and Me!

Tim I am new to Bonesmart and trying to figure out how to post information to the site. I am having my BTKR next Wednesday July 11, 2012. I did my research and self educated my self in the procedure, watched several BTKR surgeries on Youtube. But what I lack now and desperately need is support from those who have been through this. I work at Naval Station Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. I am a civilian. I need to return to work with optimum functionality because there is no BTKR "rehabilitation" available there. I think because I am visiting a relative here in VA and there is no one home during the day that I need an intensive rehabiltation center to handle my recovery. I would like to be discharged from the hospital to a rehab facility. What is your thinking on this?

Anyone else that would like to comment on this please do :)

Also, how do I post my operation date in July?

Thank you all,

Brave4life

Thank you first of all "Bottomshollow."

Your help in how to post was perfect. I feel relieved already. Something about me: I'm 64 and only in the states for this operation. I currently work in Naval Station Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.

They cannot perform a TKR at GTMO and our physical therapy is not equipped for TKR physical therapy. So, I would like to be discharged from the hospital after the initial 2 or 3 days and go to a Rehabilitation Center. Because I don't live here and currently staying at my daughters, (sleeping in my grandsons bed) her home is not equipped for my recovery. She also works during the day and no one is home from 5 am to 6pm.

What is the best way to get my need across to the case manager and the insurance company pay for short term rehabilitation in a facility?

Did anyone run into problems with this?