Don't Call It Pampering: Massage Wants to Be Medicine-Article

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have gotten deep tissue massages just about every week for the past year and a half. My therapist works on loosening up the muscles of my legs and hips. It's also greatly helped the torn rotator cuff in my shoulder. I love my massage therapist! :biggrin:

Jerseychicks, I totally believe in my sports massage therapist. Both my husband and I have been using him for the past 20 years! *He helps me out with chronic pain (back & hip arthritis) or overuse injury (like when we spent New Years Eve playing all the songs in Rock Band and my biceps were killing me). *He's part of my recovery team.

Massage is excellent for many conditions. I have been going once a week since October, and have benefited greatly.
As for insurance coverage, it is good for the patient to have part of the cost covered. Insurance will add expenses for the practioner, billing, appealing denials, credentialling, additional staff, and lower reimbursement vs cash payments.

Great article....thanks for posting it. This is something I've always wanted to try but never knew how to go about finding a good massage therapist. There are many of them around where I live.

Hi Jerseychick, great article, I will share it with my massage therapist! I have had 3 sessions with him and am starting to see the small improvements in muscles that have been so tight around my TKR knee. I have two more scheduled this week and will go again for another two after that to give it a thorough try. I wish I could go more often because I can see where it is helping. He is spending time just on the operated knee with pressure point and deep tissue work to help free up the joint. I could feel the scar tissue giving way a bit last session which was exactly what I wanted. I think he is learning something from this experience and I have turned him on to Bonesmart so he can get the insight from those of us who have been through this!