BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Knee Replacement & Hip Replacement
Patient Advocacy & Online Community

Catastrophies and Misunderstandings

Discussion in 'Knee Replacement Recovery Area' started by Larosser, Mar 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Larosser

Larosser Member

It seems that I've touched some nerves with a couple of folks around here. It wasn't my intent to frighten anyone or sow hate and discontent, but apparently I've done so. I'm sorry for that. I believe we are misunderstanding one another, perhaps because we have different perspectives.

Jo and Celie are medical folks, so their focus the body and medical procedures. I'm an engineer, so my first thought tends to be about devices and manufacturing. While to some folks that apparently seemed like sensationalism, I do not see it that way at all.

First of all, the fact that a product has had recalls (or non-recall design revisions) against it does not make it a "bad" product. The problems addressed by recalls are typically either manufacturing issues with a specific batch or batches (which has nothing to do with the design) or subtle design issues that are only discovered based on long term field studies. In other words, the product was good enough to get through factory testing and initial trials. and most of them will work just fine. A manufacturing recall may affect only a small number of devices made at a specific location and time. A design recall often addresses problems in a very small group of people, probably statistical outliers. For example five failures in one thousand devices (half a percent) might prompt a recall if statistical modeling had predicted only one failure in ten thousand.