BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Knee Replacement & Hip Replacement
Patient Advocacy & Online Community
  1. PLEASE NOTE THAT ONE RECOVERY THREAD ONLY IS PREFERRED. PLEASE DON'T START ADDITIONAL THREADS ABOUT YOUR RECOVERY.

BTHR scheduled; worried about my bad back!

Discussion in 'Hip Replacement Pre-Op Area' started by cross24, Feb 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cross24

cross24 New Member

I'm a newbie here. In fact I have never posted anything on a forum before! But I am so glad I ran across this site because I think everyone here will be very helpful as I prepare for surgery. Here's my history....
    I am 51 years old and have had bilateral hip dysplasia since birth. I had some corrective surgery as a baby, followed by a spica cast and then osteotomies of my right acetabulum and femur at age 22. Unfortunately, I don't think that surgery improved my quality of life much. So for the past 29 years I have continued to have mild to moderate pain in my right hip. Then my left hip started to deteriorate in the past few years. To compound the situation, I've had chronic back pain off and on for years. I've always blamed it on my uneven leg length and unsteady gait, but who knows. Currently I struggle with it daily, sometimes it's worse than my hip pain! Two years ago I had severe sciatica resulting from a herniated lumbar disc and was also diagnosed with spinal stenosis at that time.
    So....my concern with my upcoming surgery is how my back will tolerate everything Has anyone with else with spinal stenosis or other chronic back issues gone through bilateral hip replacements? The whole package deal scares me to death! I have 3 months to convince myself it'll be worth it or talk myself out of it!
    I look forward to hearing from anyone with similar experiences! Thanks!

2. haldox

haldox Post-Grad

Welcome Cross, glad you found Bone Smart!!

Everyone is different but I will give you my experience with back problems and THRs.