Bi tkr July 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tommy464

Hi everybody...I just got my date of July 2 for both knees. I have had many surgeries before but its the recovery that has me so nervous. I am 50 years old. I need my life back. I was getting cortisone shots every month to mask it but that doesnt work any more so its time. Most people and doctors told me to do them both at the same time because I will never go back for the second. One problem I think I might have is I have been taking Percocet 10/325 for a year and I am afraid they wont work as well. I hope they have something stronger that will help. A lot of good info on this forum, I just started reading it today.

HI Tommy

My date if July 04...I'm just behind you, but only a Rt TKR. I'm not going to have a lot of good information since I'm just learning as well. But lots of folks will check in and give you lots of good ideas and advice. You have come to the right place.

Welcome Tommy! I'm a BTKR a month ahead of you, June 4. I'll be able to tell you all about it! I've been here for a few weeks already, and I have to tell you, you will learn some really important stuff in the coming weeks. Go tot Library and read, read, read, and then come out asking questions. All will be answered!

Hi! Tommy, and welcome to the forum. We will do everything possible to answer your questions and concerns. I think having bilateral TKR is the way to go if both knees are bad. I had mine done 2 days apart--only way my OS would do it. This way you have one surgery, one hospital stay, and one recovery period. It is NOT twice as hard to recover from two knees than one.