25 yr old Male Dancer with Hip Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ben28

Hey,
My name is Ben from Australia and I'm new to the forum.
As the title says I'm 25 and I'm a dancer. It is essentially my lifeblood, I've been doing it since I was 8 years old and I love every second of it. Mostly.
When I was 16, I developed hip pain. Ranging from low, to excrutiating where I'd have to use the wall to hold myself up. Needless to say this sucked beyond belief.

The next few years are a blur of x-rays, MRI's, bone scans, and doctors having no idea what was wrong. I found a doctor (who has since gone on to open his own practice) who upon many examinations and tests, concluded that the femoral head in my left hip was degenerated due to lack of blood flow to that area. He offered temporary surgery options to which myself and my parents ultimately decided against. He also concluded that somewhere down the line I'd eventually need a hip replacement and advised me to stop dancing for now. Not the thing you wanna hear as a dancer.

So I reluctantly took a break. I had a huge 5 year absence from dancing. In that time my hip pain settled down dramatically and after an xray, it was concluded that it was not getting any better, but was not getting any worst.