TKR 10k hopeful - May 31, 2015.

Status
Not open for further replies.

praise1989

Country
United States United States
I'm a newbie.... TKR (left) jan 28. Still doing home PT, but so far it hasn't been bad at all -ROM 70 due to swelling. Leg is just a little off from being straight. I can walk around house without using walker while focusing on not limping. Pain has been bothering me at night:/ I ice a lot!
I'm hoping to walk a 10k this summer and want to ask if that sounds realistic to others who have had TKR?? I've always been a walker and am hoping to really get back into it consistently.

I think your plan will work. I could ride my bike outside at 12 weeks for 20 miles. Just take it slow and easy right now---this is not the time to rush. I will give your the articles we recommend from our library for newbies!! Hopefully you are resting lots and have time to read!! They are all short articles.

First are the BoneSmart Recovery Philosophy. . .

- rest, elevate, ice and take your pain meds according to your prescription, don't wait for pain to occur, don't overwork.
- If it hurts, don't do it and don't allow anyone - especially a physical therapist - to do it to you
- If your leg swells more or gets stiffer in the 24 hours after doing it, don't do it.
- Take note of the BoneSmart view on exercise and how exercise may affect pain and swelling.
- If you won't die if it's not done, don't do it; if you must do it, short and sweet, not hours on your feet.
- Don't stand if you can sit; don't sit if you can lie down, don't stay awake when you can go to sleep

And here are some very crucial articles
The importance of managing pain after a TKR and the pain chart
Myth busting: no pain, no gain
Swollen and stiff knee: what causes it?
Activity progression for TKRs

Healing: how long does it take?
Chart representation of TKR recovery
Energy drain for TKRs
Elevation is the key
Ice to control pain and swelling

Home physio (PT) and activity progress: suggestions