TKR Randi's In Recovery!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi

graduate
Country
Canada Canada
Hi. It's my first time here. So good to find you all. I am now 6 weeks post RTKR. I've been doing well but now really having trouble. When I walk more than a few minutes I get swelling and tightness on top of my knee . I'm thinking that it seems to follow the biking I've been doing at physio which feels great..anybody else know this feeling or any suggestions to take away the stiffness so I can get moving?

@Randi:

Hi, Randi....welcome to BoneSmart! I'm glad you found our forum and decided to join.

I have moved your post to a thread of your own so that your request for suggestions doesn't derail the other thread. You'll be much more likely to receive comments this way.

If you prefer some other title for the thread, just let me know what it is and I'll make the change for you.

Six weeks is still very, very early in recovery from a TKR. You are likely doing a bit too much activity. Also....tell me about your schedule for pain meds, icing and elevating. Those are all important things you should be doing to keep swelling and pain down.

In the meantime, I suggest you start doing some reading in the BoneSmart Library. There is a tab at the top of the page for links to threads to read. Here are a few to get you started:

The importance of managing pain after a TKR and the pain chart
How Long Does Healing Take ......
Chart representation of TKR recovery
Energy drain for TKRs
Elevating your leg to control swelling and pain
Using ice

Discussion on managing pain in TKR surgery
Work “Smarter” and not “Harder”
About recovering a knee - from one who knows!
Some suggestions for home physio (PT) and activity progress
Myth busting: The "window of opportunity"